A Real Plan for DC Voting Rights and Home Rule

About Us

The Committee for the Capital City was formed in 1995 by civic-minded citizens of the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia who are united in their desire to preserve and protect the unique character and beauty of the nation’s capital city while providing full democratic rights to its residents. Our membership includes Democrats and Republicans, black and white, young and old, of many different occupations and income levels. We welcome all who would join with us in pursuit of political justice and equality for the people of the District of Columbia. 

Board of Directors

Spokesperson: Lawrence H. Mirel
Activities Coordinator: John J. Forster

Board Members

David Falk
Senior Fellow, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland.
Former Executive Policy Advisor to Governor Schaefer and Assistant Secretary for Fiscal Planning.
Former Director, Maryland Community Development Administration.
DC resident since 1962.

John J. Forster
Financial Advisor
Co-founder of Initiative DC, which led the successful effort to amend the DC Home Rule Act to provide for the voting rights of initiative, referendum, and recall.
DC resident since 1977.

Edward F. Grandi
Executive Director, American Sleep Apnea Association
Native of DC
Former ANC Commissioner.

Shawn Metcalf
Internet/high-tech sector employment.
Maryland resident.

Lawrence H. Mirel
Partner, Wiley Rein LLP
Former Commissioner, DC Department of Insurance, Securities, and Banking, 1999 to 2005
General Counsel, D.C. City Council, 1979 to 1982.
Founder, Committee for the Capital City.

Lawrence P. Postol
Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Member, Greater Washington Board of Trade, DC Public Affairs Committee

Richard H. Sullivan
Senior Associate Dean, College, Georgetown University